Roxette concert, Singapore

I wrote a little while back how my most favorite group of all time, Roxette, was going to perform in Singapore on the 6th of March 2012. Well, it has come and passed. So this post is just a short comment on the concert. Just something for me to look back on many years from now to remember this event.

To be honest, this is the first concert I’ve ever attended… in my life ! So I was very excited. I even made the decision to attend the concert alone as my wifey was not that interested, and I didn’t want a killjoy sitting next to me while I enjoyed myself. Surprisingly, the wifey didn’t have any protests 😛

So I arrived on-time… which means I was early by industry standard I guess. This gave me the opportunity to scout out the place, since I’ll be here again in a couple of months time for the Lady GaGa concert (see previous post). I was happy to discover that I’m a mere 20m from the stage. Looking around, I also noticed that most attendees were either my age group… or older… yay !! It’s good to be around like minded people… who will behave appropriately… let’s face it… we’re old… we’re here to enjoy the music… not scream… and we need to sit down for most of the concert.

The concert on the whole was an enjoyable experience. They played all the classics, with a few new songs from their latest album ‘charm school’ interspersed here and there. The band definitely looks aged. Marie’s voice was not as powerful as before. She has altered the key of some of her songs to suit her reduced stamina. Her backup vocalist helped pick up some of the slack as well. No matter though, it was still pleasant to hear her beautiful voice. It felt honest… no lip-syncing here !

The last time the band played in Singapore was in 1995, a good 17 years ago ! Hope I won’t have to wait that long before they make another stopover in Singapore. May the music of Roxette live forever ! 🙂

This entry was posted in Music, Random thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment