Closing statements for the year

Well, another year has come and gone. Many things have happened this year… they include :

1. A big promotion. I’m officially done with post-grad training !

2. A new little one on the way 🙂

3. I got a car (Woohoooo !!!) in anticipation of the little one. The sky high Singapore COE prices made it a little painful though.

4. Many injuries from training at Evolve. This includes my rotator cuff, dislocated my little finger (it’s more important than we give it credit for) and my tennis elbow seems to be acting up. I trained much less this year than I would have liked, and I only can afford to train BJJ now. Promotion has been painfully slow.

5. Investments overseas starting to bear juicier fruits following the improvements in the European and North American economy.

 

As I grow another year older and wiser, I’ve also learnt a few things about life and the people around me…

1. 99% of people in admin are idiots. They have NO SKILLS to speak of. Much of their time is spent meeting “targets” that only look good on paper but actually do not constitute any meaningful or productive work.

2. People who get promoted the fastest are very self serving and good at palming off work to others while taking the credit for it.

3. There’s no point working very hard and missing out on family time for that “big house” in the future. In the future, your kids are grown up, moved out, and have a life of their own.

 

Well, that’s it… I’ve ranted for awhile now and have run out of things to say. I tend to keep my blog updates sparse… but hopefully meaningful 🙂

This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment