The year that was 2012

2012 has come and gone in the blink of an eye. This is my first full year in a more senior position in my career. Many lessons were learnt. New friends… new enemies… victories… and losses.

Faced the prospect of a potential litigation for the first time. It was filled with all kinds of emotions… mainly of the negative kind… “that ungrateful bastard” “shouldn’t he be happy to be alive ?” “WTF ? How dare you fish for money from me ?”. At the end of the day, the words of Steve Jobs carried so much meaning; “The person who clears your trash in your office… he gets to have an excuse… but as the boss… you’re always responsible weather you like it or not”.

Made many new friends… strengthened the bond of friendship with most, discarded quite a few into the “frenemies” pile. There are those who are no longer in your life… but will just fit comfortably into a conversation with you when you meet… I realize that it’s because both parties wish to be friends. There are those that feel like total strangers… I guess those are the ones that don’t really care for your friendship.

I realise that not everyone marries for love… in fact many don’t. They marry for convenience… and somehow… it works out. Is it just an Asian thing ? Is that the reason for the extramarital affairs that are slowly popping up among my circle of friends ? Will I be able to resist the forbidden fruit when the time comes ?

I’ve always known that money is an important aspect of securing happiness. But this year, I discovered so many new sources of joy in my life. Managed to find excitement and enjoyment with my work… which I’ve been dreading for so many years. Discovered many things about myself that are different from my younger self :

1. I am not averse to a managerial or leadership role anymore. The days of hiding in the background are probably behind me.

2. I have taken my current career path as far as I want to. It’s time to widen my horizons. It is a common trait of many successful and dynamic people in this world.

3. A child will probably bring a lot of joy to my life. Preferably a daughter.

Despite all that, there is still something, someone, that remains elusive in my life. I do not know why. In fact I don’t even know why I care. It is obviously not meant to be, though somehow, I feel that our journey in life together has yet to play out completely. Maybe it’s just wishful thinking on my part… Well… patience… and let’s see what the rest of my life holds… 🙂

Happy 2013 !!

This entry was posted in Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment